2014 Legacy Symposium

June 19-21, 2014 at Hampton University and Fort Monroe in Hampton, Virginia

The Commission has planned significant signature and other events for each year of the bicentennial anniversary from 2009 through 2015. In 2014, the Commission will host, together with Hampton University and the Fort Monroe Authority, and supported by its other partners, a Legacy Symposium on June 19 ‐21, 2014, at Hampton University and Fort Monroe. The Symposium is designed to inform teachers, museum educators, historians, members of heritage societies, and the general public concerning the significance of the war to democratic principles, contemporary national policies, homeland security, and diplomacy.

Event Save the Date postcard (pdf)
Superintendent's Memo #078-14


The Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission was created by the 2008 Virginia General Assembly to prepare and commemorate the bicentennial anniversary of the War of 1812. The Commission, chaired by Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, is charged with planning and implementing statewide commemorative events and activities, encouraging research to promote historical literacy and understanding of the war, collaborating with other states, and engaging and supporting historical and heritage organizations throughout the state as they plan commemorative programs.

The War of 1812, commonly known as "The Forgotten War," marked the first invasion of the United States by a foreign power, tested the mettle of the nation, established the United States as an international power, and helped a collection of states to identify as a nation. The War of 1812 also represents the birth of the nation's Navy, Coast Guard, and national anthem, the "Star Spangled Banner." Homeland security, as it is currently known, and the art of diplomacy were first introduced in the War of 1812. Throughout American history, Virginia has been at the forefront, and the War of 1812 was no exception, as the President during the war was a son of Virginia, James Madison. Other native sons, three of whom later became President of the United States, with illustrious service to the Commonwealth and nation during the War of 1812 include: James Barbour, Governor of Virginia; James Monroe, Secretary of State and Secretary of War; William Henry Harrison, Major General of the Kentucky militia and of the Northwest Territories; and Zachary Taylor.

Event Information


Deadline May 31, 2014. Contact Mrs. Patrice S. Piggott, Hampton University at 757‐728‐6025 or warof1812@hamptonu.edu


  • Thursday, June 19, 2014, at 6:45 p.m., Opening Concert at Fort Monroe
  • Friday, June 20, 2014, 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Educators Institute and Tours, Fort Monroe
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014, 8:15 a.m. ‐ 4:00 p.m., Historians and Scholars Session, Hampton University

Preliminary Symposium Agenda


For registered teachers and museum educators, there is no cost to attend the Friday and Saturday sessions. The public is invited to attend the Saturday Historians and Scholars Session for an admission of $40.00. This cost includes lunch. Admission fee must be paid no later than June 14, 2014 by credit card at http://museum.hamptonu.edu/1812 or by check to Treasurer of Virginia (include "War of 1812 Commission" on check memo line).

Please remit to:
Hampton University
ATTN: Treasurers' Office
100 E. Queen Street
Hampton, VA 23668

Travel Stipend

$50.00 travel stipend for teachers and museum educators only.


Housing available at Hampton University, $40.00 double occupancy (twin beds); $75.00 single occupancy. Area hotel accommodations are also available.

Featured eminent historians and scholars

  • Donald Hickey, Author and Professor of History, Wayne State College, Nebraska
  • Dr. Gene Allen Smith, Author, "Choosing Sides in the War of 1812, the Slave's Gamble," and Professor of History, Texas Christian University
  • Steve Vogel, Historian and Author, "Through the Perilous Fight"
  • Dr. Michael Crawford, Naval Heritage Command, U.S. Department of the Navy
  • Glenn F. Williams, Senior Historian, U.S. Army Center of Military History

Commission Staff Contact

Brenda Edwards and Jeff Sharp, Division of Legislative Services, Virginia General Assembly, 2nd Floor, 201 North Ninth Street, Richmond, VA 23219; bedwards@dls.virginia.gov or jsharp@dls.virginia.gov; 804‐786‐3591.

Symposium Coordinator

Ann F. Kirwin, afk@kirwinstrategies.com; 757‐675‐1876.