VIRGINIA COMMISSION ON THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN WAR OF 1812



2014 Signature Events: British Surrender of Alexandria, Burning of Washington, and Legacy Symposium

Fifth Floor West Conference Room General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 10:00 A.M.

AGENDA: Program and Education Work Group

- 1. Call to order—Rosalyn R. Dance, Chairwoman
- 2. Comments—Christopher K. Peace, Advisory Council Chairman
- 3. Purpose of Work Group
 - --Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services
- 4. Educate citizens concerning the significance of the War of 1812
 - Develop the theme for the Legacy Symposium
 - Establish a list of programs, activities, and events to encourage multigenerational participation statewide in 2014 signature events, e.g. Read-Alouds, reenactments, war stories, lectures, Teacher-to-Teacher, etc.
 - Identify and support Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads programs designed to commemorate the War of 1812
 - Identify potential Commission partners for each event and program planned
 - Explore the feasibility of "A Moment in Time"
 - Establish an "Evening with Scholars" and/or "Brown Bag Lunch" with an historian/scholar to discuss various
 aspects of the war and its legacy on contemporary society
 - · Confirm/set up arrangements for a student writing and/or art contest, including theme
- 5. Members' Comments and Suggestions
- 6. Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Directions to Staff
- 9. Next Meeting
- 10. Adjournment

Work Group

Delegate Roslyn Dance *Chairwoman* Delegate Kenneth R. Plum Ms. Betsy Barton Mrs. Gretchen Bulova Dr. Sara Bon-Harper Mr. Stuart Butler Mr. Patrick Farris Mr. David Fisk (teleconferencing from 612 East Grace Street, Richmond, VA) Mrs. Nancy Heuser Ms. Carolyn Coggin-Holmes Ms. Kathleen Kilpatrick Lauranett Lee, Ph.D. Mr. G. Glenn Oder (teleconferencing from Ft. Monroe, VA) Mr. Bill Thomas Mr. George William Thomas Dr. Sandy Treadway Ms. Jesica Turner (teleconferencing from Ft. Monroe, VA)

CONTINUED

Ex Officio Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Advisory Council Chairman Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

Staff Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk