## VIRGINIA COMMISSION ON THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN WAR OF 1812



# House Room C General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

### Wednesday, October 23, 2013 10:00 A.M.

# AGENDA: Program and Education, and Logistics and Transportation Work Groups

- 1. Call to order—Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Subcommittee Chairman
- 2. Introductions and Comments-Chairman

#### 3. Presentations:

- Symposium Coordination
- Ms. Ann F. Kirwin
  - Kirwin Development Strategies, LLC Virginia Beach, VA

#### Potential Participation of the National Park Service

 Ms. Abbi Wicklein-Bayne, Education Specialist Star Spangled Banner National Trail National Park Service

#### 4. Review of Proposed Symposium Schedule

- Thursday, June 19, 2014 at Fort Monroe
- Friday, June 20, 2013 at Hampton University
- Saturday, 21, 2013 at Hampton University
- 5. Discussion: Integration of Responsibilities of the Program and Education and Logistics and Transportation Work Groups
- 6. Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Directions to Staff
- 9. Next Meeting
- 10. Adjournment

#### Program and Education Work Group

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman Senator George Barker Delegate Roslyn R. Dance Senator Stephen H. Martin Senator John C. Miller Delegate Kenneth R. Plum Delegate R. Lee Ware Ms. Betsy Barton Dr. Sara Bon-Harper (teleconferencing from Ash Lawn-Highland) Mr. Peter Broadbent, Esq. Mrs. Gretchen Bulova Mr. Stuart Butler Ms. Carolyn Coggin-Holmes Mr. Patrick Farris Mr. David Fisk RAdm. Robert Fountain Mr. Carter Furr, Esq.

Mr. Steven Forrest Mr. Scott Harris Mrs. Nancy Heuser (teleconferencing from Richmond) Ms. Kathleen Kilpatrick Lauranett Lee, Ph.D. Mr. Myron Lyman John Maass, Ph.D. Mr. G. Glenn Oder Mr. James Parrish Ms. Jacque-Lynne Schulman Ms. Courtenay Stanley Dr. Cindy Steinbach Mr. Bill Thomas Mr. George William Thomas Dr. Sandy Treadway Ms. Jesica Turner Mr. Dulaney Ward

CONTINUED

Logistics and Transportation Work Group Senator Stephen H. Martin, *Commission Vice Chairman* Delegate R. Lee Ware, Jr. Ms. Betsy Barton Dr. Sara Bon-Harper Mr. David J. L. Fisk Mr. Steven Forrest

#### Ex Officio

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

### <u>Staff</u>

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney Mrs. Gwendolyn Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor 910 Capitol Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-3591, ext. 232 bedwards@dls.virginia.gov

Mrs. Barbara L. Teague, Senior Committee Coordinator Office of the Clerk, Virginia House of Delegates General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor 910 Capitol Street Richmond, Virginia 23219