Virginia Commission on the Bicentennial of the War of 1812



Framework for the 2014 Legacy Symposium

FOR DISCUSSION PURPOSES ONLY

August 5, 2014

Subcommittee: Responsible to the Commission for the oversight, organization, policy, fundraising, and successful implementation of all aspects of the conference.

Date of Symposium: June 2014

Format:

- Two-day event hosted by Fort Monroe or Hampton University
- Educational focus
- Scholarly plenary sessions
- Recreational activities
- Interactives for Children and Youth
- Reception
- Symphonic celebration
- Celebratory events designed to address the lack of knowledge about the War of 1812

Audience:

- Teachers
- Families
- Public

Potential Partners

- Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (Elizabeth Kostelny, Executive Director)
- American Theatre and Hampton Arts Foundation (Michael Curry)
- British Embassy Officials
- Business and Industry
- Hampton Roads localities
- Historical Societies
- Hampton University
- Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation (Phil Emerson, Executive Director)
- Museums
- National Park Service
- Norfolk State University
- Old Dominion University
- Regent University
- Thomas Nelson Community College (Alvin Schexnider, President)
- United States Army
- United States Coast Guard
- United States Navy and Heritage Command
- Virginia Association of Counties
- Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
- Virginia Department of Education
- Virginia Department of Game, Wildlife, and Inland Fisheries
- Virginia Department of Historic Resources
- Virginia Department of Transportation
- Virginia Historical Society (Paul Levengood, President and CEO)
- Virginia Municipal League
- Virginia National Guard
- Virginia Tourism Corporation

Proposed Topics

- Birth of the Navy
- British Perspective of the War
- Diplomacy
- Homeland Security
- Impact on and Contributions of African Americans and Native Americans
- Teaching the War with Historical Sites
- Virginia Militia
- War of 1812 in Virginia
- Women and the Home Front

Evaluation

Measurable objectives

Subcommittee Work Groups

Program Work Group

- Del. Rosalyn Dance, Chairwoman
- Nancy Heuser
- Local representatives (geographically dispersed)
- George William Thomas
- Gretchen Bulova
- Patrick Farris
- Carolyn Holmes
- Patrick Farris
- Sara Bon-Harper
- Glenn Oder
- Kathleen Kilpatrick

Fundraising Work Group

- Walter Craigie, Chairman
- Peter Broadbent
- Robert Baratta
- Wendy Drucker, Drucker and Falk
- Gerald Divaris (through partnership with Bart Frye)
- Dorothy Rouse Bottom
- Joe Frank, former Mayor of Newport News
- SunTrust Ale Arnold Pope
- BB&T Keith Arnold
- Old Point National Bank John Ishon
- Towne Bank Bob Aston

Potential Contributors Work Group

- Canon
- Dominion Resources
- Ferguson Enterprises
- Langley Federal Credit Union
- BayPort Credit Union
- Greg Garrett, Greg Garrett Realty
- Mead Westvaco
- Altria
- Verizon

Media and Publicity Work Group

- Sen. George Barker, Chairman
- Virginia Tourism Corporation representative

Exhibits Work Group

- Dr. Sandra Treadway, Chairwoman
- Dr. John Quarstein
- Virginia Air and Space Museum (Todd Bridgford, Executive Director/CEO
- U.S. Army Transportation Museum (Barbara Bower, Director)
- Virginia Living Museum (Page Hayhurst, Executive Director)
- Virginia War Museum (NN owned and operated facility Michael Poplaski)
- Mariner's Museum (William B. Cogar, President/CEO)

Military Work Group

- Sen. John Miller, Chairman
- Adm. Robert Fountain
- Adm. Myron Lyman
- John Maas
- U. S. Navy representative
- U.S. Army National Guard representative
- U. S. Coast Guard representative

Education Work Group

- Del. Kenneth Plum, *Chairman*
- Betsy Barton
- Hampton Public Schols
- Newport News Public Schools
- Norfolk Public Schools
- Virginia Beach Public Schools
- Chesapeake Public Schools
- Suffolk Public Schools
- Portsmouth Public Schools
- Hampton University
- Norfolk University
- Christopher Newport University
- Regent University
- Tidewater Community College
- College of William and Mary
- Old Dominion University

Logistics and Transportation Work Group

- Sen. Stephen H. Martin, Chairman
- Del. Lee Ware
- Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr.
- Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley
- Mrs. Connie Sue Brown Schroeder